Lab Practices Committee


The Laboratory Practices Committee strives to:

  • Help develop, standardize and disseminate accepted laboratory practices for clinical applications of cellular therapy.
  • Participate in the translation of novel cell therapy products from the laboratory to the clinic.
  • Encourage and foster the participation of laboratory practitioners in all aspects of the society.

Projects & Objectives

  • Facility Sanitization White Paper: Published in Cytotherapy July 2015.
  • Benchmark for Staffing Survey: launched September 2013.
  • ISCT Annual Meeting: The LPC is actively involved in the organization of the ISCT Annual Meeting. The LPC topic interests are included in the the Quality and Operations Track. This committee also participates in the review of abstract submissions.
  • Educational Webinars: The LPC is involved in the planning of ISCT webinars.

ISCT PLC Forum. Forum now live. A ISCT Member Benefit. Not a member? Join now! Laboratory Life Line: principles and practice. Shop talk with link-mineded professionals to share ideas, best practices, experiences, mentor and problem solve. You're not alone, there is a community of resources with the ISCT Laboratory Life Line.

ISCT Laboratory Life Line

The ISCT Laboratory Life Line is an interactive resource for the Cell and Gene Therapy community to engage, troubleshoot and collaborate. Managed by the ISCT Lab Practices Committee consisting of members with a diverse range of skill sets including technical, quality, regulatory and operational expertise, the Life Line provides Users with a valuable source of information, ideas and robust discussion across all sectors of the Cell and Gene therapy industry.

Visit the ISCT Laboratory Life Line

The Committee

Headshot of Joseph Schwartz


Joseph Schwartz, MD, MPH

Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, FL, United States

Headshot of Maggie DiGuardo


Maggie DiGuardo, MD

Mayo Clinic IMPACT
Rochester, MN, United States


Naseem Almezel, BS, MSc
Dammam, Saudi Arabia

Medhat Askar, MD, PhD, FRCPath
Baylor University Medical Center
Dallas, TX, United States 

Lizette Caballero, BSc, MLS(ASCP)CM
Elected Member Technologist
(June 2023 - June 2025)
Janssen Pharmaceutical
Hagerstown, MD, United States 

Gloria Carmona Sanchez
Elected Member Technologist
(June 2022 - June 2024)
Andalusian Network for the Design and Translation of Advanced Therapies
Seville, Spain 

Cheryl Cox, MT ASCP
Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, FL, United States

Wanxing Cui, MD, PhD
Medstar Georgetown University Hospital,
Washington, DC, United States

Rajdeep Das, MD, PhD, FIBMS
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
Cleveland, OH, United States

Heather Garrity, BSc
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, United States

Jelena Holovati, PhD
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, Canada

Diane Kadidlo, BSc, MT(ASCP), SBB
University of Minnesota
St Paul, MN, United States

Ted Kieffer, MD 
Abbott Laboratories Executive
Lake Forest, IL, United States

Sufira Kiran, DCLS, BS, MLS(ASCP)CM
The University of Texas Health Science Center
Houston, TX, United States

Ashley Krull, PhD
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH, United States

Anne Lamontagne, MS
Dark Horse Consulting Group
Pennsylvania, PA, United States

Nadim Mahmud, MD, PhD
University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System
Chicago, IL, United States

Elena Maryamchik, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY, United States

Ronit Slotky, PhD, MSc, CABP
Hackensack University Medical Center 
New Jersey, NJ, United States

Yvette Tanhehco, PhD, MD, MS
New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY, United States